top of page

Winners of Montreal Independent Film Festival

Montreal Independent Film Festival has built a strong foundation of respect amongst indie filmmakers and the festival just announced the winners of its latest edition. The monthly program recognizes and awards artists in various categories of the festival from all over the world. The festival is international in nature but it also has a Canadian section for local and homegrown talents. The artistic director of the festival and the members of the jury finalized the exciting lineup of the winners on November 10th. The festival also recognized the finalists of various categories with honorable mentions in animation, documentary, experimental and short filmmaking.

Here is the full list of the winners:

Best Narrative Feature


Directed by:

Philippe DAJOUX

Best Feature Documentary

Happy Princes

Directed by:

Panos Deligiannis

Best Narrative Short


Directed by:

Matteo Mascotto

Best Short Documentary

Devil's Gold

Directed by:

Alexander Sworik, Daniel Agre

Best Comedy

Hard work

Directed by:

Julie Pacino

Best Horror

Nature Crawls

Directed by:

Vseant Nath

Best Animation

Burning Bright

Directed by:

Aaron Bierman

Best Experimental

Time Bascule

Directed by:

Di Mainstone

Best Environmental

Planted in 2020

Directed by:

Santiago Bessai

Best Student Film:

Chinatown: Keep Out

Directed by:

Tye Liu

Best LGBT:

Surviving the Silence

Directed by:

Cindy L. Abel

Best Series

Band Ladies

Directed by:

Molly Flood

Best Science Fiction


Directed by:

David Jung

Best Thriller

The Fixer

Directed by:

Michael Schilf

Best Spiritual Film

Stay Connected

Directed by:

Natasha Krishnan

Best Music Video


Directed by:

Michelle Rose

Best Female Director


Directed by:

Alicia Buckner

Best Directing

Love is not Love

Directed by:

Stephen Keep Mills

Best Script

Home Away

Written by: Oliver Yan

Best Producer

The Cove

Produced by:

Robert Enriquez

Garrett barghash

Phillip Cook

Best Cinematography

Red Snow

Directed by:

Atalay Tasdiken

Best Actor


Starring: Nicolas Prattes

Best Actress

Rosie's Rescue

Starring: Tia Link

Best First Time Filmmaker, Best Canadian film & Best Trailer

They Who Surround Us

Directed by:

Troy Ruptash

Best Composer

Orson Rehearsed

Composed and Directed by:

Daron Hagen

Best Edit

Love is Not Love

Edited by: Karen Glienke

Best Independent Film

The Big Ugly

Directed by:

Scott Wiper

Honorable Mention in Short Filmmaking

And Now Shut Your Eyes

Director Tom Nesher


Directed by:

Diego Freitas

Magdalena, don't jump

Directed by:

Raúl Niño Juárez

Honorable Mention in Series

Think You Can Shrink?

Directed by:

James Murdoch

Suddenly Single in the Suburbs

Directed by:

Denise Parella, Eric Francis Melaragni

Honorable Mention in Animation filmmaking

On / Off

Directed by:

Nicolas P. Villarreal

Couch Coins

Directed by:

Mr Snugglez


Directed by:

Kaleena Zanders

Honorable Mention in Experimental

Nomen Nescio

Directed by:

Adonais Areces

Fish also drown

Directed by:


Little Prince

Directed by:

Odin Lund Biron

Honorable Mention in Documentary


Directed by:

Les Guthman

Montreal Together

Directed by:

Matthew Smith


Directed by:

Nasser Aldhaheri


bottom of page