top of page

Spirit of Indie Filmmaking and Arts

Art Film Spirit Awards is an international competition dedicated to the spirit of indie filmmaking, arts and cinema. The festival devotes itself to the language of cinema and arthouse filmmaking from all over the globe.

Every edition, the committee selects jury members from the previous award winning artists and various film graduates and film scholars from York University and Ryerson University in Toronto. The members vote for the best of each category. It is our pleasure to announce the winners of Art Film Spirit Awards.

Best Narrative Feature

Director: Zsolt Pozsgai

Best Documentary Film

A love letter to Léopold L. Foulem Director: Renée Blanchar

Best Narrative Short

Homing Instinct Director: Lydia Dean Pilcher

Best Director:

The Return Director: Shelagh McLeod

Best Short Comedy

Interracial Couple In A Cheerios Ad Director: Christine Lakin

Best Short Science Fiction

V838 Director: Oliver Kane

Best Short Animation

My Dear Son Director: Lilian Fu

Best Experimental Documentary

Mirror Sky Director: Sara Siegel

Best Experimental

FOG Director: Bill Jackson

Best Short Cinematography


Best Student Film

Interpretive Dance Director: Anne Brashier

Best Series-Web-Pilot

Chateau Laurier -Season 2 Director: James Stewart

Best Actor

Trevor Cothren

Best Actress


Katrina Syran

Best Editor


Guillaume Simonin

Best Composer


Víctor Muñoz

Best Indie Film

MARIPOSA Y SU FLOR Director: Elena Mozzhelina

Best Screenplay

Diary After Death

Nadine Weathersby


bottom of page